Reserve Land Use Plan


The Metlakatla Land Use Plan was ratified by the membership in December 2019. Click here to download a summary or here for a full copy. The plan will guide land use, development and the protection of Metlakatla Reserve lands. It identifies land to accommodate our community’s needs such as housing, recreation, government services, community facilities, infrastructure and economic development. It also identifies areas of cultural and environmental significance that require protection.

The Land Use Plan addresses Metlakatla’s 10 Reserves including:

  • S1/2 Timpsean 2 (3,279 hectares)
  • Wilnaskancaud (2.3 hectares)
  • Tugwell Island (126.2 hectares)
  • Avery Island (20.4 hectares)
  • Ruston Island (6.8 hectares)
  • Squaderee (2.2 hectares)
  • Edye Island (0.4 hectares)
  • Tuck Inlet (1.6 hectares)
  • Shoowahtlans (0.5 hectares)
  • Grassy Bay (8.34 hectares)

The Lands Department, along with Planners from David Nairne + Associates (DNA), worked closely with the membership and the Lands Management Advisory Committee to develop the Plan. In addition to regular meetings with the Lands Management Advisory Committee, there were various opportunities - open houses, workshops, and surveys - for membership to have input into the process.

Contact Lisa Letnes, Metlakatla Lands Clerk at 250-628-3234 ext. 2011 or email